S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2010-03-01 - Do kitties have knee caps?

I lost my voice this weekend and it's still not back. I tried not to answer my phone today, but it's Monday and everyone just *loves* calling me on Monday.

The good stuff:
I rode 50 miles of hills yesterday with 7 people from my bike team. And it was windy as fuck and cold. But we did it! This was my longest ride yet this year, and the first time I do hills, it's always so hard. So I pushed myself up those damn hills, up, down, up, down. I really need to clean the chain. And the gears were slipping a bit when I was in my granny gears, so... we'll see.

I was gonna clean the chain yesterday after the ride, but I was way too tired. We went out to eat Mexican, had a couple margaritas, met up with friends, went to the bar, met up with more friends, I had Tecates with lime and Richard had double tall vodka redbulls, Jesus Christmas that man can drink. We came home after that, I tried to watch celebrity rehab, but couldn't make it to the end. I conked out. So Richard woke me up and we went to bed, and I swear I was asleep before my head hit the pillow.

Then today at work I was super productive! I was on.

And when I got home, I emptied the dishwasher, Richard took out the trash, then I did Turbojam while he worked on stuff for clients. Took a shower, then made dinner.

Man I fucking *love* cooking again. I don't care how tired I am, I take one step into the kitchen and all my cares just melt away. I boiled some whole grain spiral pasta (with salt and a little canola oil in the water). Then I chopped up some fresh basil, roasted red pepper (I buy it in the jar), and calamata olives, mixed in some olive oil and balsamic vinegar, a little salt, oh and a little of this roasted red pepper Italian dressing we had in the fridge.... yummy! I put a blob of goat cheese on the plate, too. I'm lactose intolerant, so I really try to avoid that sort of stuff (I don't eat ice cream and it SUCKS), but there's just something about goat cheese, I love it! (I will pay the price later, belive you me.)

Speaking of goats, on the ride yesterday we rode past a goat farm! There were all these baby goats frollicking around, oh my god it was so cute.

DUDE! My coworker comes back Monday from maternity leave. It's a major pain doing all her crap. I'm so ready for her to be back.

Now I'm sitting on the couch with Richard and the kitties watching John Stewart.

Aw man, listen to this, I'm really perplexed about this: my cat was limping this evening! Her little back right leg was like stiff or something, she was kinda hopping. So I scooped her up, and it was like her leg wouldn't bend, then I felt what I think was a little pop, and then her leg was ok. It was almost like a charlie horse or something? But she didn't appear to be in pain. THEN, it happened again about an hour ago, but she was fine after she walked around a bit. I am worried! I'm gonna call the vet tomorrow. What if she has some neurological disorder? I would just die if anything bad happened to my cat, she makes me so so so so happy, I *love* her.

Hmmm.

Anyway, I'm gonna go to bed now, curl up with my kitty, and fall asleep.
1 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go