S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2011-03-25 - A Friday in March I'm not at work

I tried to make Captain Crunch chicken this week for dinner and it turned out terrible! I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to breading chicken! It's rare I have fuck-ups in the kitchen, and I'm such a dang perfectionist, I was really annoyed with myself. I need to do some more research on the Internet.

Giant rode with us Sunday, he was all cranky again cuz he's old, but I just LOVE riding with him. He's so amazing on his bike. Let me explain. He's so tall, and his legs are so long, and his bike is so huge, it's enjoyable to be around him on these long-ass rides that last for 5 or 6 hours. You need to LIKE the people you ride with. Interspersed with his old-man grumblings are "Giant-isms" that he just blurts out, like he'll start talking about some ride he did back in 1983, when he didn't wear a helmet.

There's this one dude I just really dislike riding with, he's been on vacation the past 2 weekends, so it's been great not having him around. He plays really annoying music. He's got a mini speaker system on his bike. He plays shit like Celine Dion, Kenny G, and Yanni. I'm not making this shit up. I have the whole team calling him "Jacuzzi" because he plays jacuzzi jazz all the fucking time. It makes me ANGRY to be around him. I tried to help by burning him a ton of cd's by the Beatles, Keane, and the Soft Bulletin by the Flaming Lips, and he actually put those songs on his iPod (which plays on the speaker system), and it has helped a little because I've gotten a few secret "thank yous" from the team.

Then there's Lindz who is just really annoying because she is one of those people who only talks to you when she wants or needs something from you. She's trying to get me to carpool with her and Jacuzzi this weekend to one of the rides. Both Saturday and Sunday rides are about an hour drive out of town. Ugh.

Richard, being the computer wiz that he is, found D@vid B0wie's T0Y for me on the tangled web! I'm completely overjoyed! There's 12 songs on it, a few that ended up on "Heathen", which I'm very very familiar with, but I've only listened to the first 8 songs because I'm prolonging the magic you get when you hear a new CD from an artist you fucking LOVE! It's great.

I didn't end up taking Thursday of last week off. The Foo Fighter's white limo came to Houston, and went. That was St Patrick's day. I hate St Patrick's day. It's like this obligatory drinking holiday. Hey I'm white, let's celebrate! Yeah. No. I am many things, white included. I'm this: Italian, Hispanic, French, Scottish, German, and English.

I don't really know where I was going with that previous paragraph, only that I wanted to tell you that on Twitter somebody said that St Patrick's day was like Gringo Cinco de Mayo. Spot on. Everyone celebrates it, but nobody knows what it means.

So instead of taking that Thursday off, I'm taking today off. I have no plans right now. I have some ideas of how I want to spend my day, but no solid plans. It feels good.

I do have to check my work email at some point. I tried to rock it at work yesterday enough so I wouldn't have to worry about too much shit today, but you never know with my job. I save lives, I put out fires, I rock people's worlds, on occasion.

It's 7:30 in the morning and I'm in bed with my boyfriend and the kitties and my stupid leg's gone numb again.

I'm still doing the Kinect YourShapeEvolved in the mornings before work, it's great. I keep unlocking new levels. Level 3 is hard. I started it, but then quickly went back to Level 2. I want to have things to look forward to, I don't want to rush through everything.

My hair continues to grow. People aren't making comments at all now, which makes me think it's looking really crappy and is in that annoying stage between long and short hair. I'm unfamiliar with this. I did realize the other day that I'm growing my hair out. This is brand new territory for Acorn. Yes, I just referred to myself in the 3rd person. I've always told myself, and others, that I'm a short-haired person. But maybe that's not true anymore? I haven't really asked anyone for an honest opinion. Richard doesn't count, of course he's gonna say my hair looks good. I'll ask my older sister. We're going to see each other next month. You can always count on your sister to give you an honest opinion about your hair, am I right, or am I right, or am I right?

The back of my hair is past my neck, and the front is just past my mouth.

Got 2 huge rides tomorrow and Sunday. Just 3 more weekends until the big ride.

0 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go