S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2006-04-30 - names of people of names

(scroll down for 'other nuts')

I had to drive to the 'burbs this afternoon for a wedding shower for Amor's* cousin. It took me an hour to get there, and I got lost on the way. Miles and miles of strip-malls and gas stations and subdivisions. Anyway, the shower was a little hoity toity, but not too bad. I did feel a little out of place. I wore rather dark clothing, somewhat "alternative" looking, what with my funky hair and all, and I show up (late) to a room full of pastel-and-flower-fabric adorned laides. I got a few of "the look" looks. Oh well. I'm the city-girl who married Amor, what can I say? I don't go to church and I drink AND I talk about it. I tried to be tactful, and was successful about 97% of the time I was there.

It was really good food, though, all handmade. I love that. The cake was very pretty and tasty. I had coffee with it, yum.

Then it took me another hour to drive back home.

Needless to say, it sort-of wiped me out and I really didn't get started on my homework until around 9 p.m., and had a few interruptions like phone calls and the television.

I'll do more tomorrow...afternoon. I have a stack of 50 scientific journal articles to annotate. I had to look that word up in the dictionary. It means, to add critical or explanatory notes to a text.

***************************

Amor left this morning for a school-thing (in N0rth C@r0lin@), he'll be gone until WEDNESDAY! I'm missing him, missing him, missing him. His phone's on the fritz, he's sharing a room with a fellow student, probably won't get to talk to him much. Ugh. I hate that. I have to enter a zen-like place and not worry about it, right?

***************************

*Amor - my husband's new name. Yes, I know it's not very Nordic-sounding, but I started thinking about it more, and went off on a whole other tangent. It's Spanish for "love". We met in 1993 in college probably at a keg party. He was 19 and I was 18. He was born in 1973.

Now I will tell you the rest of my name choices for people I write about regurary:

Becky - my little sister who lives next door to my parents (She chose this name herself. Why? She used to have a belt in high school she bought at a thrift store she wore all the time that was leather and had "BECKY" stamped onto it.) She was born in 1978.

Henry - her boyfriend, who also lives there. (She chose this name, too.) He met Becky when she was 9, but they didn't date until she was in high school. She probably wore her "Becky" belt on their first date. He was born in 1975.

Dee - my older sister who lives north of here. She was born in 1972.

Mom - my mom. She was born in 1944. She has dementia and it gets worse as the months go by. We will not have her here on this earth as long as most other people have their parents on this earth. Her faith and love of Jesus makes her an angel, she's got the best attitude and is eternally cheerful and positive. It's amazing.

Dad - my Dad. He is insane. He was born in 1940.

Francis - my friend who went to Chicago with me about 2 years ago, we've been getting closer lately. (I haven't really talked about her that much in the past.) I think she was born around 1975. Her birthday is next month. We like to go get bubble tea together. They invented Bubble Tea in the village she is from.

Zjendi - Amor's best friend, the guy who without, I would not have met Amor. He saved our marriage a few months ago. We are mending our friendship presently. He is like a brother to me. He was born in 1972 or 1973, I can't remember. I'm stupid.

Azeyla (site) One of my bestest friends. I've known her since 1992. In those days, we were potheads. Now she's getting a PhD. She was born in 197?

Acorn - me, you idiot! I am small, brown, and crunchy. I was born in 1974.

******************************

Amor's mom was doing really well today. She had toast and eggs this morning, a little of it. Then a few hours ago they gave her some medication and she had an anaphyalctic reaction to it. This was very, very scary. She's OK. If she hadn't been in the hospital already, she might not have made it. Man. All the stuff she's been through, and now this. At least Amor's dad is there, by her side all the time. That's love.

************************

Go check out my drawring on my profile, yo.

4 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go