S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2006-11-29 - pineapple and pellegrino

Today I will respond to comments left for me in yesterday's entry.

Read on:

derrick - 2006-11-28 19:01:55
Happy B-Day! Glad to finally see someone in my age group. It's like all the gen-x-ers are hiding under a rock around here. =p I love Office Space. PC Load Letter? What the hell does that mean?

Generation X People, show thineselves!

Smed - 2006-11-28 22:36:27
Did your waitress have the appropriate number of pieces of flair???

We had a waiter, not a waitress. He did not have any flair, but he did the "Bennigan Squat".

Lily - 2006-11-29 00:31:05
Happy Birthday !!! I liked the one that said relax :) It reminded me of Le Petit Prince for some reason.

You're weird, Lily.

dom - 2006-11-29 00:46:26
Wow, your mom was like the mom in the movie? I'm sorry. I'm glad you're still with us, though. Scare tactics and restrictions like that never work, even with good intentions... it's just squeezing a coiled spring. I think my parents always tried to reason and explain things so I made good decisions myself. The movie was pretty over-the-top, but I liked it better than Sofia's other movie, Lost In Translation.. which had a horrible ending for me. Glad you liked Virgin Suicides too.

Yes, it's a miracle I survived my childhood. Although, unlike the movie, it was more my dad who was in control of the household. My mom was controlled by Jesus, the Bible, and my dad.

Olaf - 2006-11-29 03:02:41
Acorn! Happy Birthday! Congratulations on a pretty spectacular year and I hope that the coming year brings even higher highs.

Higher highs? Is that possible? I guess we will see!

oldmaid - 2006-11-29 08:51:26
happy birthday, acorn!

Thank you, oldmaid!

becks - 2006-11-29 10:27:44
Happy Birthday!!!! I can't believe your mom really said that to you! Is she still like that? I really liked the Virgin Suicides. And I also liked Lost in Translation (but that's probably because I'm in love with Bill Murray). ;)

Yes, my mom really said that to me. It was the time when we didn't have a TV and she made us wear culottes instead of pants or shorts. And she's still hyper-Christian. I think I've talked about this before, but my mom has early dementia, sort of like Alzheimer's but it progresses faster. She's only 62, she forgets words and various memories. She was diagnosed in February of 2005, has since had to quit her job, and she isn't allowed to drive anymore. She's doing OK, but you can definitely tell she is getting worse and worse. She can still do activities of daily living like cooking, cleaning, laundry, etc. She's very positive and cheerful, if it weren't for Jesus and her faith, this would be an impossible venture for her, I'm sure. She's a very sweet person, only wants to give, loves being around her daughters and family, going to church, church-related activities and TV shows.

It's very sad. Growing up, I felt like I never really knew my mom because she was so focused on her born-againness and Jesus. And now I can't get to know her because it's like she's going backwards with her mentation and cognitive development.

I'm still really bitter and angry at both my parents. I was talking to Amor about it last night, how angry I am at my dad, still. I don't respect him. He's always doing something selfish and self centered. I mean, he called me on my birthday and after he told me happy b'day, he started lecturing me about how I treated him wrongly on Thanksgiving and I should never treat him like that. (We were all seated eating Thanksgiving leftovers and he asked me to go get him a Dr. Pepper and I refused. He's got that oldschool, Mexican machismo attitude that women should do kitchen-y things for men. I hate that shit, especially from him, especially after having to listen to him go on and on, about himself or whatever he's talking about. He won't shut up and won't ever listen to other people. Even when they're talking about their daughter who almost died of leukemia. He interrupted this person to talk about dog breeds. What an asshole.) I was wondering why I should respect someone just because they provided half my genetic material, yet they've done nothing to deserve my respect. Am I a horrible daughter?

I guess I have to work through this, just like everything else.

In 2000, when Amor and I had first gotten together, and were living together, I had some major health issues, which I told to my mom. Her response, Well, Acorn, maybe God is punishing you for living with Amor. To this day, I don't know if it was maybe the early signs of her dementia, or if she really believed that. I'll never know. She'll never really understand how much that hurt me. There's no sense in discussing it with her now, she wouldn't be able to comprehend it. That's just so unfortunate.

Once again, I know I've got shit to work through. I know I'm venting a bit here, so bear with me. I know it's a lot to ask.

PS I'm in love with Bill Murray, too.

***********************************

Last night I put in the blender some fresh squeezed OJ and a whole pineapple and poured it into ice cube trays. Today I poured some Pellegrino over a few cubes, it was so delicious.

I drank it with a straw. I love straws.

******************************

I got a haircut today from a new guy. I am 100% happy with the cut, and the new guy is really cool. Although, he's over twice as much as my little guy ($65 plus tax). But hey, I'm worth it, Amor's got a job, now, I'm an adult woman and I deserve to feel confident about my haircut. I mean, my little guy, (he moved to New York) he really lacked confidence, and half the time I'd be sitting in the chair nervous about whether or not I was going to be happy with the cut. This new guy? It was such a relief to finally feel confidence in my hairstylist. Ahhhhhh.

Question to the ladies:

How much do you pay for your hairdos? (I am trying to justify paying $65 for a haircut.)

9:18 p.m.

8 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go