S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2007-05-31 - question for the ladies

We watched Waitress last night, it was such a beautiful, funny, heartfelt experience - I couldn't stop thinking about it all day.

So it goes.

*****************************************

The last day of my old job is tomorrow. I told most everybody. Patty called me and left a message today - I haven't talked to her in literally months. The message was very nice, and it sounded sincere. I called her back, and she said she'd truly missed me these past few months - I gave her the stock answer that Well, we're both just really busy, you know? I didn't know what else to say. I don't really want to keep in touch with her. Turns out, she's moving soon, anyway. It made me sad for what we could have had in a friendship - we'd started out so strong and fun in the beginning...

******************************************

I've been eating solid food for 2 days, now, and I must tell you that all digestion mechanisms are back in order, no beat has been skipped - if you know what I mean. I haven't eaten any meat products, though. Strictly vegetarian. This hasn't been intentional, just what I've felt like eating. I've been really thirsty. Other than that, I feel good. I haven't been getting enough sleep, though.

*********************************************

Francis has been doing bikram yoga on her own this week - I'm super-impressed with her. She seems to be settling into "badass" mode within my mind.

I'm going to yoga tomorrow after work. I get to ride my bike.

Amor's car still isn't finished - they're saying now it's going to be done NEXT WEDNESDAY, which totally sucks because I need my car for my new job and my 21-mile-one-way-commute starting Monday!

It could be worse. We could have no car. Lots of families get by with one car. We're going to continue to make it happen, I'm not going to stress about it.


***************************************

This past week I've been trying to update my wardrobe with nice clothes. I hate shopping, and I'm not very good at it. I have to buy nicer clothes with my new job, because I no longer get to hide my crappy clothes under a lab coat. I bought a suit - it's getting altered right now. It was half-off at Macy's. Other stores I have utilized: Ann Taylor Loft, the Limited, and Express. I hate to do this, what I'm about to tell you - but I'm saying good-bye to Target clothes. I love shopping at Target, but for this job, the clothes are just too cheap. And I don't mean price. They just don't last.

Ladies: Do you have any suggestions for stores at which to shop for pro clothes? I went to the mall today and could only make it into 3 stores before I started to feel completely drained of all energy. I'm an in-and-out-quickly kind of shopper. I don't linger.

This is a strange turn in my life - looking for "nice" clothes.

I need to get some good shoes, too. They have to have really high heels, though. I only wear shoes that make me a LOT taller - when people find out I'm only 5' 1 & 1/2" tall, they don't believe me.

********************************

I'm so frickin glad it's Friday tomorrow, so glad. I've been taking off early all this week, tomorrow will be no different. What are they going to do, fire me? Ha!

11:25 p.m. Thursday (like you didn't know)

8 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go