S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2007-08-18 - 69 + microphone = fun

I've been spending lots and lots of time with Amor, when I'm not working, of course. He still is jobless, but getting some unemployment, which is cool for now. We hung out last night, a date, and we talked and flirted the whole night, it was great. We got really drunk and went to a stupid karaoke bar and I sung Summer of 69 by Bryan Adams - I love singing that song. It's the perfect Karaoke song: short, catchy, nice little melody, and I get to sing "69" numerous times into a microphone.

My job my job my job! It's doing things to my brain, good things, I think. Well, it's having to work more, and it's such a trip. Thank god I'm not dreaming about work, but my every waking moment is focused on my tasks - which are a TON. I have bouts of feeling completely confused and overwhelmed, still. It's a total see-saw.

Like, I'll get jarred out of sleep in the morning (in the middle of the night for no reason, or by my alarm clock) in an instant panic, head swirling about what I need to do at work.

I still like my coworkers a lot. Sweet is just the best - she's been doing this for 14 years, and I'm learning a lot from her. Foodie is a fantastic worker, none of the girls are slackers in the slightest, but her personal life isn't that hot, and she's on lexapro, but trying to wean herself off. I'm as supportive as I can be. Salma, I don't really interact with her that much, but she invited me and Amor out for drinks last weekend, but I was going out of town. Boss - she's tough as nails, but I don't dislike her. Foodie told me a few weeks ago she's a micromanager, but I don't really see that at this point. We'll see.

I've yet to hang out with them outside of work. I'm playing it very, very cool with them. Which is unlike what I've done in the past: been overbearingly pushy with getting people to like me. Yes, I admit it, you as my witness - I can be overbearing when it comes to trying to get new people to like me. I worry too much about what other people think about me. But I'm trying not to be like that so much these days.

But I do feel that if I don't hang out with them soon, they're going to think I'm snobby.

*************************************

It's flooding here lately, and it's hot.

We may go see Superbad today.

I'm slightly hungover, but still managed to water the plants.

I got new eyeliner at Walgreens the other day, it's midnight blue. My favorite color. I'm wearing it right now, all around my eyeballs, and it looks great.

In a month, I'll be in Austin with Amor and my sister and her husband for the ACL fest. I'm going to take two days off work for this. I'm most excited about Bjork, Muse, and Sound Team.

It's so hard taking a day off work, because coming back to work the next day is just hell. I guess this is just something I'm going to have to get used to. My boss said that's just what happens, and I should be expected to check my phone messages and emails on the days I'm off. Yeah, it's that kind of job. Live, eat, sleep, breathe work.

************************************************

This job has given me a whole new appreciation for Fridays. Sunday used to be my favorite day of the week, but not anymore. It's Friday, now.

3 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go