S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2007-09-08 - random free tickets & banana bread

Pandora, why are you plaing You Don't Worry Enough by Adult? Based on what you've told us thus far, we're playing this track because it features synth rock arranging, electronica influences, repetitive melodic phrasing, extensive vamping, and a vocal-centric aesthetic.

***************************************

I'm up early listening to musics and baking banana bread. I woke up to find a note from my husband:

Guten Morgen meine Liebchen!

I'm sorry I didn't put away the laundry & dishes ---> both would be too noisy right now. I want to do it when I get up. I'm sorry.

I love you!

Now make us some banana bread and coffee!

**************************************

God, so much shit's been happening - we had such a crazy fun weekend last weekend, and looky here! It's a weekend already!

I love Fridays. Last night we watched a PBS special about Frida Kahlo on DVD. I love her so much.

Last Saturday we went to Synth Night at Numbers and the music was awesome but the place was absolutely dead. So Amor wanted to leave, against my will! I'll dance in an empty club, I don't give a shit. So we went to a (unbenownst to us, we just thought it was a dance club) Latin club and got stuck in a ditch on our way there (it was raining) and had to get towed for $60, then we parked for $5, then we went in the club and spent $20 on cover - only to discover that the club wasn't our thing (it was actually the Mana' after party) and the door guy wouldn't refund our moolah. So, in 20 minutes, we spent $85 on absolutely nothing!

Yea! I was slightly pissed off.

Anyway, then Sunday we went to a Dynamos game and as we're standing in line for tickets, this official-y looking guy randomly comes over and gives us and 4 other people free tickets - great seats, too! We were right by the goal and saw Ngwenya score one.

We drink Miller lights and enjoy futbol. It's really awesome.

And what's even more awesome is that I now own a pair of yellow cleats and am on a real soccer team with my husband. (I think I got a lesser-version of those, they were only $25 at Academy - I had to get youth size 4 because women's were all out in size 6.) We paid team fees and EVERYTHING!

And we have a game Monday.

NO SHIT!

I don't know jack about the rules of soccer - Amor's got a training DVD lined up for me this weekend so I can brush up. But the team captain told me basically they're short on girls (it's a coed) and as long as I'm not a total loser on the field, I'll get the swing of things real quick-like.

I'm so stoked!

And!

And!

And!

There're more.... you can read about it here:

Next weekend is ACL! I haven't had any time to do research on any of the bands. I'm still working 50+ hours at my job, so I come home and work out with Amor or go kick the ball around, and after that, I don't have time for anything. My little sister's informed me she's looking up each band, and will have a synopsis of each one when I see her next Thursday. Which is usually what I do, see, our roles are reversed, usually she doesn't have a clue about any of the bands, and I know everything.

A lot of preparation goes into a 3-day music festival. I had to buy a new hat - I got 2 actually, for variety. You have to have the right kind of footwear. (I'm going to wear the same boots as I did last year, hopefully this time I won't trip. Proper sunblock is a must - Rita's informed me she has some spray-on waterproof, stuff.

Listen, can you do me a favor? Go here and look over the bands and tell me the ones I MUST go see - as long as it doesn't conflict with Bjork on Friday night, or the few hours before Bjork, as I will be camping out at the AT&T stage at that time (Friday night).

********************************************

I'm really liking this band Client. It makes my brains happy.

*******************************************

Oh and you've got to go see 2 nights in Paris with Delpy - it's so hilarious and makes you think. About love.

*******************************************

This is the best banana bread recipe I've come across. It's healthy, tasty, and only bakes one loaf.

3 very ripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs

1 & 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup milled flax seed (Don't let this deter you - get off your ass and go buy some milled flaxseed.)

Preheat oven 350F
Pam 8X4 loaf pan
Mix first 4 ingredients in small bowl, set aside.
Mix last 6 ingredients in medium bowl.
Add wet to dry. Don't overmix, you'll produce gluten and that sucks. It makes holes in your loaf.
Bake for 50 minutes - check with a toothpick. I find that the top gets a few burned looking spots, but that's OK, underbaking banana bread is gross.

My husband toasts it the next day with butter.

*************************************

Turbo jam time.

(Did I mention that my job is going great? This week I actually felt like a real employee.)

(And, I've really been getting into the ampersand lately.)

6 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go