S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2011-12-24 - the White Funky in my dreams

I've been very bah-humbug this year. We are just going to stay in Houston and do nothing. Not going to see any family at all, which is totally fine with me. We did not put up the tree, but we're toying around with the idea of putting up a mini tree. I have a mini tree in the xmas decorations box, so it'll be easy enough.

I didn't buy anyone gifts. Not even Richard. Well, I take that back, I bought a gift for my Secret Santa at work. We do the Secret Santa thing in my department at work and it's great, I love it. I gave my secret Santa recipient $20 cash and a singing Justin Bieber toothbrush.

Richard and I did go grocery shopping last night at 10pm, we got a ton of wine and ingredients for xmas dinner. It's just going to be me and Richard, I'm so looking forward to it. Menu: baked ham, roasted green beans and tomatoes, whipped sweet potato casserole, and fresh yeast bread. For dessert, Richard picked out some berries (strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries) and we're gonna have that with some fresh whipped cream over a strawberry pop tart. It's this dessert we invented last night at the grocery store. We call it "Pop Tart Delight".

Work:
It's been a little bit of down time at work, which has given me time to work on recording this training presentation that's been due for 2 years! I'm not a slacker, I just haven't had time to do it. It's finally complete, 14 minutes long, I edited the audio, power point acceptable, DONE. It's a wmv file. Now...I just have one more to complete before the end of the year. Because, as you see, there were 2 of these trainings my boss wanted me to record before the end of the year. I guess I'll work on the next one next week. These training sessions are going to be viewed by people all over the US, oh how exciting is that. [sarcasm there]

Boxing: I'm still going to boxing 3 times a week. I paid for another month of classes, but it's dang expensive. I don't think I'm going to pay for another month after this one is over, as my membership ends Jan 11th. It's really, hard, too. AND I've gained 5 pounds. Yeah, it's probably muscle, but I don't feel any thinner, that's for sure. The main physical benefit is that my core is stronger and more attractive.

I have not ridden my bike since October. Not since that cursed Bike Around the Bay ride. My bike hangs in the bike room, still muddy and dirty from all that riding in the rain. Curses.

But it's been cold. So I have that excuse, too.

Fridays after boxing class are reserved for tacos and beer with boxing friends. Richard joins us. It's very fun. These chicks are so much cooler than my bike friends. My bike friends are frickin catty and snooty compared to my boxing peeps.

I just had a dream before I woke up about Wade. I was at a club, standing on the 2nd floor balcony looking down at the dancefloor. Wade was down there dancing with his ex girlfriend. He was dancing this crazy crazy dance he invented in college called "the White Funky". It involves rotating karate kicks separated by giant pelvic thrusts. It's hilarious. I've seen it once in my lifetime: it was about 1992, Wade and I (before we started dating...that was about 2000) were at a Billy Goat concert in Denton Texas. Billy Goat is a funky band, they had a horn section. Wade and I were 18 or 19 at the time and we were wasted. He got inspired and started dancing. Mind you, this dance requires quite a large performance radius as far as club floor real estate goes, and this particular club was packed. Mayhem ensued, Wade almost got his ass beat, and I had to save him from this huge guy about to kick his ass for his drunken shenanigans.

Ah, good times.

Anyway back to that dream I was telling you about. So, in the dream, I was standing up there watching Wade get all funky on the dancefloor and I was thinking "Man! I need to film this so I can put it on YouTube!" But he stopped dancing when he saw me up there watching him, and I was sad. The end.

Had a relationship breakthrough with Richard this week, I feel we're at another level now. Whatever that means. You know, just working through shit. I adore the living shit out of him, and him too. He's a metal dog, and I'm a wooden tiger. Bound to clash at times, but doggedly loyal and playful with each other always. Long looks and deep smiles.

It's almost 8 am. I've been up for an hour and a half. Gonna try to snooze some more. It is the weekend. And I do have Sat, Sun, Mon and Tue off.

Happy Festivus.

0 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go