S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2008-01-26 - 100 things about Acorn

100 things about Acorn

1. I do not own one pair of granny panties
2. I have freakishly small hands
3. I like doing the laundry
4. I don�t like to spend more than $10 on a bottle of wine
5. My spiritual beliefs are a mix of Buddhism, paganism, Star Wars, and hard science
6. In the late 90�s, I was in a band and played bass. We played three shows, one in my apartment complex parking lot in Denton, and two in Deep Ellum in Dallas (the Curtain Club & the Galaxy Club)
7. My bass is a � length black Ibanez
8. I have a scar on my left eyebrow
9. My dream car is an El Camino
10. I have 1 tattoo on the inside of my left ankle/foot/heel of a centipede
11. I got my first job at age 15 as a sample lady at local grocery stores
12. I was born on Thanksgiving day
13. I am an excellent baker
14. I floss on a daily basis with unwaxed dental floss
15. My favorite dessert is pecan pie from Goode Company BBQ
16. My husband and I met in college in the early 90s and were friends for 7 years before we started dating
17. I can tie a cherry stem into a knot with my tongue
18. My favorite band is Fugazi
19. I started college at age 16
20. I was born in a city I never lived in
21. It took me two tries and 8 years to get my master�s degree
22. I�ve dropped acid about half a dozen times
23. I�ve only been to one professional baseball game
24. I�ve never faked an orgasm
25. My favorite mixed drink is Jack and diet coke
26. My favorite season is Spring
27. Although it happens very rarely, I like drinking in the morning
28. I�ve loved foie gras from the first time I tried it
29. I�ve brewed beer
30. I only like chocolate if it�s in ice cream
31. I didn�t watch Star Wars until I was 18 years old (the year was 1993)
32. I�ve never seen Grease, Pretty Woman or Dirty Dancing
33. If Johnny Depp knocked on my door right now, I�d leave my husband for him
34. I am ticklish absolutely everywhere at all times, period
35. I recently played soccer on a coed team that finished first in its division
36. I�ve been to Europe twice
37. I make my pizza and chili from scratch
38. I often sleep with earplugs in
39. I used to be afraid of flying
40. Raising a Rotweiller from a puppy helped me conquer my fear of big, black dogs
41. I can recite the beginning of the Canterbury Tales in old English � my mom taught it to me when I was a little girl
42. I can tell you a dirty poem in Russian � I used to date a guy from Latvia in college
43. I can�t go to sleep unless the closet door is closed
44. I can be extremely annoying at times
45. I like to embroider and crochet
46. I think a man in a chef coat is sexy
47. I have broken several of my toes on several different occasions, but no other bones
48. I drink soy milk
49. I drive in the left lane, mostly
50. I took piano lessons for 6 months when I was in junior high
51. I like drinking orange juice when eating Oreos
52. As of January 17, 2008, I have one gray hair, I found it on my husband�s birthday a couple of years ago. I didn�t pluck it.
53. I like moshing
54. I have nice handwriting
55. The best three concerts I�ve been to were Fugazi, Sigur Ros, and Ministry with Sepultura
56. The first song I learned how to play on the guitar was �One� by Metallica
57. My skin-tone is described as �olive�
58. I will meet you for a beer anytime you are in town
59. I hate shopping. I can never think of what outfits to buy when I�m at the store � so I look at the mannequins for reference, and buy exactly what they�re wearing. It never fails
60. I go off and on with caffeine. Sometimes I will quit drinking caffeine for a few months, only to go back drinking it on a daily basis again
61. My main source for caffeine is hot tea with soy milk, although I love coffee (with a splash of soy milk and 3 sugars) & Red Bull (sugar free), and the occasional Diet Coke
62. I am an enigma. Sometimes there�s absolutely no logic to my preferences. (My husband made me put this one on here) They come and go like the wind.
63. We don�t own a microwave. We don�t believe in them. It�s been a struggle for me at work, having to use one to heat up my lunch every day. It�s weird.
64. I bring my lunch to work every day
65. I don�t look good with long hair. I am a short-hair person
66. I had an erotic dream about Iggy Pop one time. He had a really huge cock.
67. I can�t wear perfume. I�m hypersensitive to smells. I can�t walk through the perfume section of department stores without holding my breath or else I�ll get a migraine
68. I get migraines on occasion
69. My favorite snack is popcorn. I have a stove-top crank-handle popcorn popper
70. NiN�s Pretty Hate Machine changed my life in 1989
71. The coolest dog I ever met was named Joe. He was a blue heeler and his owner was a saxophone player
72. I currently have a job with perks
73. I am very clumsy
74. Sometimes I see spots, like little bright sparks of light, floating through the air in front of me
75. I love all animals. I have a way with them
76. I love cooking and being in the kitchen. It�s therapeutic.
77. When I�m feeling depressed, I like to listen to the Cure
78. I am a big fan of nature and things in the wild: plants, animals, insects, dirt and rocks.
79. I am pretty good with plant identification.
80. I like chemistry and biology
81. When I was a little kid, I used to pretend with my mom that I was a cat, and I�d crawl around on the kitchen floor and meow, and my mom would give me a bowl of Cheerios to eat. She�d pet me and say, Nice Kitty!
82. I have been clinically diagnosed with high blood pressure.
83. I am of ideal body weight and activity level, my diet is great.
84. I like science fiction, and wished I read more of it.
85. I love roller coasters
86. It is a pet peeve of mine when other drivers don�t use their blinkers. It drives me bananas.
87. I know how to change a tire � both on a car and on a bike.
88. I do a bit of my own bicycle maintenance
89. I own two bicycles � a road bike and a mountain bike
90. I find the concept of plate tectonics completely fascinating
91. People are kind of like atomic bonds � some people have covalent bonds (donate electrons), and some people have ionic bonds (share electrons) with one another, if you look at electrons as energy, which they are
92. I once got busted for drinking when I was 18 by a plainclothes cop � I was drinking Mad Dog 20/20 grape.
93. My favorite person on the planet is my little sister
94. I eat oatmeal every morning
95. I know how to navigate my way around the city using public transportation in Paris, London, Chicago, and Barcelona
96. I recycle.
97. I like to write with cheap, Papermate pens, black ink, medium point. I write so hard, the back of the paper feels like Braille.
98. I have an extremely keen sense of smell
99. I keep up with my friends� birthdays
100. I feel the most free when I am on my bicycle.

I made a link to the left, "100", of this entry. I've been meaning to put this list together for a number of years, but never got around to it. The list has been ping-ponging around in my head for that long, and it took me 3 weeks to complete.

Additionally, another new link to the left is "the city" where I'm taking 1 picture a day of the city as I'm on my way to work.

These past few months as I've been commuting, I would look in my rearview mirror at downtown, and every morning it would be beautiful, but with a different background and look, depending on the weather and whether we were on daylight saving time or not. So anyway, I got the idea from the movie Smoke, where Harvey Keitel would take a picture from his smoke shop every morning in Brooklyn from the same spot. I saw that movie years ago, and the idea struck me as really cool. But I never had a changing-yet-the-same city-subject that I thought worthy of this type of photographical exercise.


4 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go