S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2011-11-24 - Boxing and Thanksgiving

No update for 17 days? What's up with that? I'm still a Twitter fiend, so there's 1 excuse.

Apartment update: I got something even bigger and better and shinier for the space above the john in the main bathroom. It's this tree made of metal with clear gems on it. Perfect. I got some serious bling going on in the bathroom. I found sequin-accented towels at Bed Bath & Beyond.

Also, I put up padded kitty shelves in the living room. The 2 girl cats go nuts on the shelves, they love them. The boy cat? Not at all. Which is fine by me. He's a big lard ass and sometimes terrorizes the girl cats, so this gives them a place to escape to.

I figured out the box frame lighting thing. It looks great, too.

The apartment is really coming along.

I am off work until Dec 7th. I hope to finish the apartment in that time. Wow! I'm really looking forward to not working. I'm totally not going anywhere. I'm having a goddamn staycation.

I started going to a boxing class. It's in a real boxing gym. The instructor is a chick, she's awesome. How'd I find out about it? Remember early October I went to a horror flick convention and stood in line for hours to meet Bruce Campbell? Well, I was in line next to this chick and we became fast friends. She goes to boxing and has been telling me this whole time to go to class with her. So 2 weeks ago I finally did. Let me tell you, it's an insane workout. I thought I was fairly in shape, wouldn't you agree? Well, this class makes me feel like a lard ass. We do so much crazy shit! I am really building strength and stamina. I bought a pair of frickin boxing gloves. They are awesome. Just last night I finally felt comfortable beating the shit out of a punching bag. And afterwards, the past 2 Fridays and then last night - drinks and food! So much fun. Oh my god. But the first 2 classes really freaked my shit. I was like, should I be doing this? I hadn't hurt that bad in, like, 20 years. I actually thought, hey maybe I'm too old for this. Dumb big brain thoughts. I am so doing this. ... We haven't done sparring, yet. Dunno if I'm going to go there. I've been in 1 fight my entire life, and it was dumb and I am foggy on the details, I only remember that I won and the girl's mouth was bloody, she had braces, I must've clocked her in the mouth. Who knows? What I'm saying here is that hitting things and people doesn't come naturally to me.

Rents update: 6 months of harassing phone calls and messages from my dad has led me to blocking their #s on my cell phone plan. Brin had a really good idea to have someone leave an out going message with a different name, which I didn't get around to doing. I still want to do that, in case my dad gets wise and calls me from a different phone.

It's been nice. The past 2 days have been free of harassment.

So yesterday I worked til 4, came home and changed into my work-out clothes. Went to boxing. Hung out with boxing friends, Richard met up with us, it was so much fun. I had beers, half a jalape�o margarita, and a shot of tequila. Came home at 11 something and took a shower. Started working on the pumpkin cheesecake. I've got this insane 3-page recipe from Christopher Kimball that's frickin AWESOME, but is very labor intensive. I grind my own spices: clove, allspice, nutmeg. I finished at 2:45am. I also made some avocado dressing while the cheesecake was baking, have no idea what it's going to be used for.

It's 7:40 am and I've gotten 3 hours of sleep. I still have to make some bread. I'm going to try to go back to sleep now and make the bread when I wake up. Eating time is 4pm, may go over there earlier to hang out.

Happy Thanksgiving!!

0 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go