S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2007-06-23 - scone manna




You Are Greg Brady



Outta sight! Suave and all American, you tend to be clean cut and upstanding.

You're friendly with most people and a huge flirt (sometimes even with family members!).

What Brady Are You?

I took a quiz that I got off Rae. Funny! Laugh!

************************************

Third week of my new job came and went. I'm still feeling confused every day, but less and less confused as the days go by. They can tell I'm really trying hard, that I'm starting from square one, so they're all really patient and understanding. I think I was hired on personality more than previous experience. I've thought this through and through. My team really, really likes me, is the vibe I get.

I work in a cube farm. Since it's a brand new building, apparently we have very nice cubes, compared to the rest of the cube farm community across the globe. (This is just one other person's opinion. I really couldn't care less. It's just odd to not be able to see someone you work with, but to be able to hear everything they do.) I feel like a cross between Milton, Neo, Dilbert, and Clarity. It's such a strange existence, and I'm still adjusting.

Still adjusting to spending an hour and a half inside my car every day. I have to go to bed by 10:30 every night, at the latest, if I want to be able to function the next day. I used to go to bed at 12 or 1. This has been a very hard adjustment. I have no night life during the week, and it's not fun at all. I'm learning to accept this, and I realize it's how most professionals live their lives. (Mini-arrgh.)

Thursday, when I got off work, my car wouldn't start. Turned out it was just the battery. I got a jump at work and drove it to a car parts store and they changed out my battery for free. According to my husband, they were so nice because I had a low-cut blouse on that day. Whatever! I got free labor, so who cares what I was wearing! I didn't freak out when my car wouldn't start, I was so proud of myself.

So anyway, we think that's a sign to get me a more reliable vehicle. I will keep you posted on this, I'm sure.

********************************

I gotta go. I just made myself some Annie's mac-n-cheese.

Oh, I made blueberry scones this morning from scratch. It was a recipe from our Cook's Illustrated (which, if you are looking to get a good recipe magazine, this is the BEST. It's from Christopher Kimball from the PBS show America's Test Kitchen, if you're ever up by 10 on Saturday mornings.) It says you should grate frozen butter, which I did, but my thumb didn't make it safely through the process. But other than that, they turned out flawless. I gave some to Francis when I met her for Yoga just now, and Amor ate two this morning before he went to work.

On top, before you bake them, you brush on melted butter and sprinkle sugar on top of that. Oh man, it's like manna from heaven.

3 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)

go - go