S acorn's diary
newest
archives
profile
notes
email
design
thebeloved
host
thecity
100
2011-06-28 - The weekend

I�m going to tell you all about the weekend. If you want to skip it (may I suggest you do), scroll down till you see *** where I tell you about 2 cool dreams I had recently.

Thursday night
My older sister flew in from Dallas, we picked her up at 9pm. Didn�t really have much of an evening, but I did make her dinner. I made these lentil patties, they were awesome. You take dried lentils and soak them overnight in the fridge.� Drain them. Put them in the food processor with raw onion, garlic powder, olive oil, fresh cilantro, salt, ground coriander, and curry powder. You might have to add some water, as you want it the consistency of pancake or waffle batter. On a hot skillet, spoon � cup portions, and cook them like you would a pancake. Once cooked, you can dip them in sriracha or ranch dressing, or even mayonnaise is good. YUMMY!

Friday we got up at 4:30am and left at 5:30am to drive to SA. It�s a 225 mile drive, and we told my dad to expect us there at 9. My dad didn�t know Lisa was coming, it was a surprise. They�ve been not talking. He�s been a dick to her for her entire life, too. So we called him as we got closer, and agreed to meet at Starbucks near where they live. I told her, �You know this is going to take at least an hour for the trade-off, don�t you?� So we mentally prepared ourselves to not leave SA until 10, and I was right. First, he took 30 minutes to drive there (they live 5 minutes away), then he hummed and hawed and the coffee shop and made me buy him a coffee. Then he insulted my appearance 4 times. (Earlier I said it was 3, but it was really 4. He ridiculed my boots, my skirt, my hair, and my eyes.) I told her, �C�mon, we�re outta here.� We all got in the car and waved goodbye to my dad. He was oblivious to the fact he upset me. All-in-all, it was uneventful, and she and I considered it a success.

It was 10am, and we had a 300+ mile drive ahead of us to get to Denton. We expected to get there around 3:30, which we did. It was really nice drive. My mom was SO happy to be with 2 of her (3) daughters. We listened to my music the whole way, we stopped at McDonald�s for lunch. It was great. When we got to Denton, it was exactly 3:30. My sister�s boyfriend arrived. We ate dinner at a noodle house. We came home and sat around, played with Lisa�s dog. Then we went to sleep. I slept 10 hours! I was really exhausted.

Saturday
We got up around 8:30 and my sister made us breakfast. My mom had some coffee. Her dementia isn�t too bad, she can eat, use the facilities by herself, laugh, etc. But she forgets words. Like, she didn�t know what a towel was. If you show her a towel, she�s like, �Oh yeah! A towel! I don�t know why I can�t remember that!� and so on and so forth with lots of different things. But it you ask her if she needs a towel, she�s like, �A towel? I don�t know what a towel is.� And then she laughs and says, �I can�t remember words.� She knows what�s happening to her, and it�s heartbreaking. She told my sister that night she�s sorry that she has dementia and she hopes that her daughters don�t get it. So sad. She also told her that if Dad dies before she does, she wants to come live with my sister in Denton.

After breakfast, we walked around the university near where my sister lives. I have lots of memories there as I went to school there when I was 16-18 years old, back in 1991-1993 � as a TAMS student. It�s this accelerated program for smart high-schoolers (back when I used to be smart) where you attend college classes with college-age students for 2 years, and when you graduate, you have your high school diploma and you�re a junior in college. Pretty sweet.� It was so good for me because I got to leave home at 16, my dad and I were clashing pretty bad at that point. If I had stayed at home, things would have probably gotten very ugly. But it didn�t do me a bit of good, because I ended up failing out of college when I tried to go through the chemical engineering program at UT in Austin because I was hanging out with the wrong crowd.

On the campus, it was hot walking around. I was proud of myself for making everyone put sun block on before we left. We definitely needed it. Then we came home and sat around and watched the news and TV and played with my sister�s dog some more. He�s a riot. We went to Taco Cabana for lunch. Came home and sat around some more. I was actually bored, but in a good way. I�m never bored. Then we watched Toy Story 3. My mom liked that. This whole time, she�s just happy as a clam, smiling, holding our hands, just absolutely beaming. It was so good to get her away from my dad.

Then my sister�s boyfriend made this really good chicken dinner with rice and we had a salad. It was yummy. After that, we went to sleep. I managed to call my dad to let him know I�d be driving my mom back on Sunday, and we discussed what time would work. He said either before 2pm, or after 5pm. He had to be at a job between 2 and 5. I didn�t want to be there after 5, because that would put me arriving back to Houston at 9, too late. I decided I�d be there close to 2 on Sunday. He was totally cool with that. We agreed to meet at Starbucks again. So, that meant I had to leave with my mom at 7:30 or 8am to get there around 1 or 2, in case I hit traffic in Dallas or Austin.

Sunday
Got up at 6:30am, my sister made us breakfast again. Left promptly at 7:30am. I got gas at this place right by where my sister lives. Drove through Dallas and stopped at this Jack in the Box to use the facilities. We didn�t buy anything. Then drove about 30 more miles and stopped at a convenience store to get some water and realized my wallet was missing! I asked my mom if she had seen it, and she was like, �Wallet? What�s a wallet?� I looked everywhere and couldn�t find it! I came to the conclusion that it must be either at the gas station in Denton by my sister�s place, or at the Jack in the Box where we stopped to go pee. As I drove back up the highway to the Jack in the Box, I called my sister to see if she�d check the gas station, maybe I dropped it. No, nothing. And I couldn�t find the Jack in the Box! I drove up and down the highway twice. It was nowhere to be seen. I felt p anicky and crazy! And my mom didn�t know what was going on, because she couldn�t understand �Mom, I�ve lost my wallet.� I tried to stay calm, and for the most part, I did. I kept telling her everything was fine. I decided I�d just have to keep driving because I needed to keep that 1-2 o�clock meeting time with my dad. My sister got the phone #s for my credit cards for me and I called them all (while I was driving!) and cancelled them. I didn�t have anything else in there except $5, my license, my car insurance card, and my museum card. All replaceable, but still, I was hoping no-one would steal my identity. Dammit! How could I have done something like this?!? I�m so careful about all my stuff in my purse all the time! I was beating myself up for letting my dad distract me � I was super nervous about meeting up with him. I just KNEW something was going to go down.

We kept driving and I decided to stop for water again. I had some cash. I made mom get out of the car and come with me so she�d go pee. I have to go in the stall with her and put paper down on the seat (she doesn�t know that this needs to be done), and make sure she has paper. We went pee, I bought a water. Came back to the car and opened the car door for my mom, AND MY WALLET WAS LAYING THERE ON THE PASSENGER SEAT! My mom had been sitting on it this whole time. She didn�t know it, and didn�t think to look, because she didn�t know what was going on when I was telling her �Mom, I lost my wallet!� Isn�t that just insane?!? I had to just start laughing, because I was so relieved and my mom was so happy and oblivious. Jesus Christ. I�m just glad nobody�s going to steal my identity.

Driving driving driving. I played my music, we got closer to SA, my mom was still happy, but I could tell she was anxious to get home. She was counting the miles and keeping track of the time. We�d lost a little time back tracking to look for Jack in the Box, but I was speeding to make up for it. The universe must have been protecting me, because I didn�t get stopped by the cops, and there were plenty along the highway.

I called my dad as we entered the city and let him know our ETA. Fine, no problem. Then I called him when we were 5 minutes away from the Starbucks, and he said �Well, I don�t know how long it�s going to take me to get to Starbucks, I have to get my truck ready.� There � I know there was going to be a problem. Why the fuck isn�t he just going to drive the car? It�s a 5 minute drive to the Starbucks. Then my dad calls me back to tell me that he needs me to get a pen and paper to write down 5 things for me to go to the grocery store, and can I drive mom to the house now. I said I don�t have time to go to the grocery store, that he�ll just have to go shopping later. (Here�s where he�s a dick. He has no regard that I�ve driven my car 13+ hours this weekend, am very exhausted and tired. And I�m wise to him. My mom is aware sometimes. When I told her dad wanted me to go to the grocery store, she was like �Grocery store?! But he said he was going to go grocery shopping on Friday!� So she know what�s up sometimes. Dad was trying to get me to do his errands that he was supposed to do over the weekend when mom was gone.) Then he calls me back to tell me �I sure hope you�re not lying to me. I sure hope you really have to go to work.� Which wasn�t really a lie. I was planning on checking my work email when I got home. By this time, we�re at the Starbucks, waiting for dad. We called him to let him know we were there. He said he�d be there soon. We wait 10 minutes. We wait 20 minutes. No Dad. Mom is visibly anxious. She must have asked me 5 times where he was. She kept turning around in her seat, looking at every car that drove by. There were lots of cars. It was 1:30 pm on a Sunday. He calls me to see if I want a sandwich from Subway, he�s going to stop at Subway before he picks up mom. I told him no, that�s OK I don�t really have time. 15 more minutes go by.� I called him to ask him if he just wanted me to bring her to the house, and before I could say anything, he starts screaming at me �LET ME FINISH! LET ME FINISH! LET ME FINISH! My truck just broke down on the side of the road! I�ve almost got it working again. I started driving before it had a chance to warm up!� Meaning, it�s my fault that his truck broke down. And I guess he�s not stopping at Subway. At this point, It�s been 45 minutes that we�ve been waiting for dad. Fuck this. I decided to just drive mom to the house. She has a key to let herself in the gate, she�ll be fine. I call him to tell him I�m driving to the house, and he starts lecturing me on where I should park once I get to the mailbox. I�ve been there before. I used to LIVE there for christ�s sake. I know how to fucking park. I get there, put my car in park, leave it running, get mom out of the car, open the trunk to get her bag, and start walking up the little hill from the road to the gate. I see my dad�s �truck� - it�s this huge semi. I didn�t even know he owned a semi. It�s really loud (the engine) and huge, and as we�re walking up the little hill and opening up the gate, he miraculously gets it running, and pulls up 20 feet from us, and honks the horn, only it�s more than a horn, it�s this huge blaring horn from a semi and it scared the living crap out of me, and I felt my body jump, I almost fell out of my boots. I was scared at this point, and panicky. I just wanted to say bye to my mom and get the hell out of there. So I did. I said bye to her, gave her a hug, walked (very quickly) down the hill past my dad, past the semi, to my car. My dad is screaming at me, �Acorn! ACORN! ACORN!� But I just turned and waved and said good bye to him and my mom, and yelled �I�ll call you when I get to Houston!� but they didn�t hear me because the semi engine was too loud. All this took an hour. He is an impossible human being. I drove as fast as I could through the city, I was low on gas but I didn�t care. I didn�t stop for gas until I was way out of the city on my way to Houston.

Since this exchange, he has called me numerous times and left numerous messages and had my mom call a number of times and left a few messages as well. I haven�t listened to them, nor do I intend to. Weirdly, I�m not really angry. I�m mostly sad because my mom has to live with that insanity all the time. I was hoping this trip was going to be something we could do more often, but sadly, it�s not. He�s too much of an asshole, and I can�t deal with that anymore. I�m a grown woman, I don�t need his bullshit in my life. And this means not seeing my mom as well. It�s so sad, so sad for her. I don�t really care about not talking to my dad anymore, or seeing him anymore. It�s an easy decision on my part. The hard part is deciding to not see my mom unless dad is not present.

We have a trip to Florida planned in July where my little sister is flying with my mom (My little sister lives in SA, but we�re at odds right now. She is at odds with my older sister as well. My older sister and I don�t really talk to my little sister because she�s a conservative weirdo and yells at us all the time.) My older sister and I will meet them there, and we�ve got other family there as well on my mom�s side. They refuse to allow my dad to visit. Nobody wants him around. Like I said, he�s a scourge.

Doesn�t all this sound like I�m making it all up? I just re-read all this, and it sounds insanely false. But it�s not. It�s true. This has been �normal� for my entire life since I�ve been born, with my dad. I�ve finally decided, at 36 years old, to never see or talk to him again. Jesus.

Thanks for listening to me. I really had to get all that out.

***OK, so now I�m going to tell you about 2 dreams I had.

Thursday night dream
I dreamed I was part of Bjork�s entourage. I was new. The other members of her entourage were trying to show me the ropes at her mansion. They were all LA types, and I was feeling like a country bumpkin. They were trying to show me how to dress and do my make-up and what jewelry to wear. For a job, I got stuck with car-duty. I had to ride in the car with Bjork�s 8 childern (she had 8 little children under the age of 8 or 9), and I was sitting in the back seat, crammed in between 2 car seats. I had one kid lying on my head. It was crazy and hot and the car STUNK. I was thinking, �How then hell did Bjork get 8 kids?� Then I woke up.

Friday night dream
I was out camping with Richard with a bunch of other people. It was dark, and there was an outdoor shower. I started taking a shower when I thought nobody was looking, and then I looked down and saw my body was covered in leeches! I started running and screaming towards my tent (cuz Richard was in there), and as I was running, the shower water stream turned to follow me and was getting stronger, so the water was spraying on me the whole time I was running to the tent. I was brushing the leeches off my body and streams of blood were running down my skin all over, and it hurt where the leeches had been. I got to our tent and Richard was asleep he wouldn�t wake up. Mc Chris was there on his hands and knees as I was trying to wake up Richard, and Mc Chris got in my face and was making kissing noises with his eyes closed and wanted to give me kisses! And all I could do was laugh and giggle because he was SO cute with his kissy noises and cute little body! I never did kiss him. I woke up.

Oh, and my older sister gave her blessings on my hair. She says it looks alright. Thank God.

I bought a metal kitty litter scoop today at PetSmart, it was $13. Those plastic ones keep breaking on me because the cats insist on peeing on the bottom of the litter box, so the clumping kitty litter bonds with the pee, then bonds with the bottom of the cat box, and you have to scrape it off. Sometimes this takes a lot of effort. I hate cat litter and cat pee and cat poo and car hair. But I love cats. Must love cats!

ALSO � my older sister started riding her bike! She went on a ride Sunday after I left with her boyfriend, and they rode 20 miles!! I am so extremely excited about this, you don�t even KNOW. I�ve already told her we�re riding on this organized ride together in August, up near where she lives. We pinky swore on it. It�s going to rock. I don�t care if she goes slow, I told her I�d go as slow as she needs to. YAAAAAYYYYYYY! This is like, a dream come true. I love biking SO much, and to bike with my sister? Man, talk about good times. I can�t WAIT.

Peace out.
0 (comments turned off. leave me a note?)
go - go